Total plays 0
follow us vimeo youtube twitter facebook
logo soundchess
Her passage into the alpine forest
all videos
Nicole Mitchell Black Earth Ensemble  _Her passage into the alpine forest
Live at Massive Art Studio - December 2012 Milano
Thanks to all musicians, Ludmilla Faccenda Art&Network, Marco Ferullo - Aperitivo in Concerto Teatro Manzoni, Milano

Nicole Mitchell’s Black Earth Ensemble (BEE) is a musical celebration of the African American cultural legacy. Founded and directed in 1998 by creative flutist/composer Nicole Mitchell. BEE’s music embraces the ancient past and paints visions of a positive future. The music is the weaving of swing, blues, avante garde jazz, bebop, African rhythms, Eastern modes and Western classical sounds. The name “Black Earth” was chosen to honor the feminine source that our lives depend on—Mother Earth. The purpose of Black Earth Ensemble is to inspire the human spirit with thought-provoking beauty and to present a positive, healthy and culturally aware image of African Americans. As a woman-directed, co-ed, multi-generational group, it touches a range of emotional spaces rarely expressed in a “jazz” setting.  Black Earth's message is intended for audiences of all ages and backgrounds.

Nicole Mitchell: flute, vocal
Mankwe Ndosi: vocal
Ballaké Sissoko: kora
Tomeka Reid: cello
Silvia Bolognesi: contrabass